A POS vendor can let you change the logo, the commercial offer, or the code. Those sound like variations of one idea, but they are three different forms of control. Confusing them is how an operator rents a merchant tool while believing a product business has been acquired.
Tillo is an offline-capable retail POS and store-operations SaaS sold once as source code. You deploy it under your own brand and operate it for small physical merchants. It supports barcode checkout, durable sales, cash shifts, stock ledgers, suppliers, purchasing, customers, promotions, reports, and multiple locations. This comparison separates merchant software, rented white-label control, and source ownership.
The verdict
Choose Square when the actual buyer is a merchant that needs a supported POS account, integrated payment acceptance, available hardware, vendor operations, and an established ecosystem. Choose a Rhombus white-label arrangement when the buyer is an operator who wants a branded POS offer while a vendor continues to own and maintain the platform. Evaluate Tillo when the business depends on changing and operating the product itself, and the buyer accepts responsibility for everything the current product facts do not substantiate.
No option wins all three jobs. Square is the strongest immediate merchant service of the three. Rhombus publishes the clearest vendor-managed partner route. Tillo provides the deepest product-control starting point because the transaction is for source code. That control is not feature parity, payment infrastructure, hardware supply, compliance, or support; it is the ability and responsibility to direct the software.
| Question | Square POS | Rhombus partner / white-label route | Tillo |
|---|---|---|---|
| What is acquired? | A hosted merchant POS account | A vendor-managed POS platform with partner and white-label options | A retail POS SaaS source-code product |
| Primary buyer | A merchant running its own stores | A payment company, service provider, reseller, or technology operator | An operator building a POS SaaS business |
| Brand control | Merchant branding within Square's product | White-label options published at Enterprise | Deploy under the operator's own brand |
| Code control | No source-code acquisition offered on the pricing page | No source-code transfer stated on the public page | Source code is the product being acquired |
| Published product scope | Payments, POS, hardware, websites, staff, inventory, APIs, marketplace, support | Retail and restaurant POS, devices, processor choice, partner path, support | Offline-capable POS, barcode checkout, durable sales, shifts, stock ledgers, suppliers, purchasing, customers, promotions, reports, locations |
| Published price shape | $0–$149/month/location plus processing, as of 2026-09-01 (Square) | $49–$289+/month plus optional add-ons, as of 2026-09-01 (Rhombus); partner economics undisclosed | $149 at publication; purchasing is currently disabled |
| Main counterweight | The operator does not acquire Square's code or product roadmap | Branding control remains attached to a vendor-managed platform | Payments, hardware, integrations, compliance, deployment, and support are not substantiated in the current product facts |
Square is a merchant service, not a codebase acquisition
Square is the honest comparison anchor because a buyer scanning the retail POS category already understands the market through Square. The company publishes a wide operating surface: point of sale, integrated payments, item and inventory tools, staff features, websites, hardware, APIs, an app marketplace, support, and adjacent financial products. A merchant can begin with an account and use the vendor's payment and device ecosystem rather than assemble those pieces independently.
Square's official US pricing page shows software from $0 to $149 per month per location as of 2026-09-01. Card-present processing is published at 2.4% to 2.6% + 15¢, depending on plan (Square POS pricing). Those numbers describe what a merchant pays Square to use Square's service. They do not describe the cost of acquiring a POS product to operate for other merchants.
That makes a sentence such as “Tillo costs more or less than Square” structurally wrong. Tillo's eventual catalog price is for the source-code product. Square's monthly fee is for a merchant account. The operator considering Tillo wants to become the business charging merchants; the merchant considering Square wants to run a shop. One price table cannot make those transactions comparable.
Square wins for the reader who actually needs Square's job. It brings payment acceptance, device options, a mature support operation, integrations, developer surfaces, and a vendor-managed roadmap. Tillo's current verified facts do not substantiate equivalent payment, hardware, marketplace, ecommerce, API, or support capabilities. Source ownership does not create those surfaces by implication.
Square gives up something important at the operator level: the buyer does not acquire Square's source code, product roadmap, or right to turn the Square platform into an independently operated SaaS. The merchant configures a powerful service. The operator evaluating Tillo is making a different acquisition.
White-label control is real—and bounded
White-label POS platforms sit closer to Tillo at the buyer level. They are sold to businesses that want their name on a merchant product, often with partner tooling and a vendor behind the operating system. The route can be faster than taking ownership of a codebase because the vendor continues to supply maintenance, support, device work, and product updates.
Rhombus is a current, verifiable example. Its official site invites payment companies, merchant service providers, POS resellers, and technology integrators to deploy branded POS solutions. It publishes support for iOS, Android, and Windows, processor and hardware choice, retail and restaurant workflows, offline operation, partner options, and 24/7 support. These are direct counterweights to Tillo because Tillo's catalog facts do not substantiate a device matrix, payment-processor layer, restaurant workflows, partner portal, or managed support.
Rhombus publicly prices merchant plans from $49 to $289+ per month as of 2026-09-01, with optional add-ons from $5 to $25 per month. Its Enterprise plan lists white-label options (Rhombus POS). The exact wholesale partner schedule, minimum commitment, margin model, and rights to the software are not disclosed on that public page. A buyer needs a written partner quote before treating the merchant range as the economics of a branded POS business.
Rhombus wins when vendor operations are an asset rather than a constraint. A payment company that wants a branded offer, broad device support, processor flexibility, and a support organization may prefer to rent that capability. The operator can focus on merchant acquisition, onboarding, payments relationships, and first-line support without owning every product decision.
The boundary is equally clear. White-label branding is not source ownership. The operator's offer remains attached to the vendor's platform, release decisions, partner agreement, pricing, and continued service. The public Rhombus page promises control over brand and partner relationships; it does not promise transfer of the underlying source code. That may be the correct bargain. It is still a different bargain from Tillo.
Tillo is the source-control route
Tillo's supported product scope is focused on the retail operating loop. It joins barcode checkout to durable sales, cash shifts, stock ledgers, supplier and purchasing records, customers, promotions, reports, and multiple locations. Offline capability is part of the product definition. The buyer acquires source code, deploys it under a separate brand, and operates the SaaS for merchant customers.
That acquisition allows the operator to direct changes rather than request them from a hosted or white-label vendor. The merchant niche, commercial model, workflow priorities, and integrations can be shaped in the code. The advantage is not that every required change is already finished. The advantage is that the buyer controls where the work happens and does not need a vendor to accept the request.
Tillo's counterweight is the work that control transfers. The current verified product record does not substantiate payment processing, supplied hardware, printer or scanner compatibility, ecommerce, fiscal compliance, tax integrations, APIs, app marketplaces, native applications, deployment services, or managed support. It also does not define the boundary of offline operation. Each missing fact becomes an item for diligence or implementation, not a feature to assume.
$149 is the dynamic catalog value for a one-time source purchase, not a number to compare directly against merchant subscriptions. The appropriate first action is to inspect the demo and validate the retail workflows the intended merchant offer depends on.
Commissioning a build is the fourth path
A custom build offers more control than any pre-existing product. The operator can define every workflow, integration, deployment constraint, and merchant segment from the beginning. It may also avoid the work of adapting a product whose assumptions differ from the target market.
That control starts before there is a working retail loop. The team must specify and deliver checkout, durable sales, shift operations, inventory history, purchasing, customers, promotions, reporting, location boundaries, offline behavior, security, deployment, and support. No credible scoped first-party quote was available for this research, so this page does not publish a cost range. Fabricating one would make the comparison look precise while hiding the assumptions that determine it.
Custom development wins when the distinctive workflow is the business and the operator has the capital, time, and product capability to carry the build. Tillo wins when its supported retail scope is a useful starting point and source ownership matters. Rhombus wins when vendor-managed breadth and partner operations matter more than code control. Square wins when the reader is a merchant and should never have been shopping for a platform acquisition.
Decision guide for a POS operator
If the immediate job is to equip a store, stop at the first branch: use a merchant POS. Square's public product is much closer to that need than Tillo, because it includes vendor-run payments, devices, support, and a live service. The same is true of other merchant-focused incumbents. Buying source code would add responsibilities the store did not ask for.
If the job is to launch a branded POS offer without owning the engineering system, request the full Rhombus partner terms. Ask for the wholesale price range, minimums, who owns merchant data, migration rights, support division, processor restrictions, branding coverage, termination behavior, and what happens to merchants if the partnership ends. The published merchant plans are evidence of a live platform, not a substitute for that contract.
If the job is to own and direct the product, evaluate Tillo against the current product scope rather than a familiar POS checklist. Confirm the exact offline boundary. Confirm device and payment requirements. Confirm deployment and support responsibilities. Decide which unsubstantiated surfaces are mandatory before the first merchant. The source-code route is appropriate only when those responsibilities are part of the intended business.
Common comparison questions
Is Square POS source code that an operator can buy?
Square's official pricing page sells hosted POS plans to merchants; it does not offer the Square source code as the product being purchased. Tillo is sold as a retail POS SaaS source-code product for an operator to deploy under a separate brand. Square includes a much broader vendor ecosystem, while Tillo gives the buyer control of its own codebase and the responsibility to build or verify missing surfaces.
What control does a white-label POS provide compared with Tillo?
A white-label arrangement can provide brand, domain, merchant relationship, and pricing control while the vendor continues to operate the underlying platform. Rhombus publicly offers partner and white-label options, devices, processor flexibility, and support. Tillo provides source ownership instead. The Tillo buyer can direct product changes, but also inherits deployment, maintenance, integration, compliance, and support work that a white-label vendor may carry.
Which option has the lowest price?
There is no honest single answer because the prices buy different things. Square's $0–$149/month/location range as of 2026-09-01 (official pricing) buys a merchant service. Rhombus's public $49–$289+/month range as of 2026-09-01 (official site) buys hosted plans and does not disclose full partner economics. Tillo's $149 buys the source-code product after publication. Comparing the three requires obligations, rights, and buyer level—not one monthly number.
What does Square provide that the current Tillo facts do not establish?
Square publicly provides integrated payments, hardware options, websites, staff tools, APIs, an app marketplace, support, and a mature vendor operation. Tillo's current verified facts establish offline-capable POS and store operations: barcode checkout, durable sales, shifts, stock ledgers, suppliers, purchasing, customers, promotions, reports, and multiple locations. They do not substantiate equivalents to Square's wider ecosystem, so those remain Tillo diligence questions.
When is Tillo the better acquisition path?
Tillo is the better path when the buyer intends to operate a retail POS SaaS, its supported store-operations scope matches the target market, source control is central to the business, and the buyer can carry the unsubstantiated work. It is not the better path for a merchant seeking an immediate supported register, or for an operator who wants a vendor to own the platform roadmap and support burden.
