The format and its shape
Live commerce scaled in the West in a specific shape: the marketplace. Whatnot reported more than eight billion dollars in GMV in 2025 — roughly double the prior year — and TikTok Shop projects approximately twenty-three billion in US sales for 2026. Both are shared discovery feeds where brands rent shelf space and keep the customer relationship for as long as the algorithm allows. Cartcast is the inverse of that model: each merchant's own audience, on their own domain, inside the store they already own. This page compares owning that infrastructure against the two hosted vendors who sell the same embed shape as a subscription.
Cartcast is a live-commerce platform sold once as source. You deploy it under your own brand and run it for merchants: live shows, in-video checkout, and shoppable replays as a lightweight embed script each merchant drops into their existing store. This page compares it against Channelize.io and Bambuser — the two named anchors in this comparison category.
The brand-owned-site format this product implements is the one the category's data treats as a risk, not a boom. eMarketer put US livestream e-commerce at $14.64 billion in 2025 — about 1.2% of US retail e-commerce, forecast to reach 1.9% by 2029 (eMarketer, 2026-01-16). Bambuser, the category's longest-running brand-site vendor, reported annual recurring revenue down 12% year-over-year at the close of 2025. The honest pitch for this product is the software-ownership arbitrage, not a market-growth story: hosted vendors charge $79–$497 a month for a managed embed. Cartcast is that product on infrastructure you own.
If your merchants want discovery — a shared audience, new-to-brand buyers who find them in a feed — the honest answer is to send them to Whatnot or TikTok Shop, not to this platform or any other brand-site embed.
Cartcast vs Channelize.io
Channelize.io is the fair fight. It is the closest operational analogue in the hosted market: a live-commerce SaaS that delivers live shows, shoppable replays, and in-stream checkout as an embed on the merchant's own site. It absorbed LiveScale in December 2025, consolidating the one peer that would otherwise appear in a 2024-era listicle as a separate option. As of 2026-08-07, Channelize publishes plans at $97–$497/month, with annual billing at $81–$414/month (pricing.channelize.io/plans); a free tier runs four events per month at up to fifty concurrent viewers; a 14-day trial is available. Channelize publishes no GMV commission.
Cartcast is a live-commerce platform with the same embed shape. What differs is who runs the infrastructure and who sets the business terms.
When Channelize is the right answer
Say it plainly: for most operators, most of the time, Channelize is the right answer.
Channelize runs the streaming servers, manages CDN delivery, maintains uptime, and ships a vendor-maintained roadmap. When a CDN edge node drops during a merchant's show, Channelize's team responds. When a new feature ships, it appears on your merchants' accounts without a deployment on your part. An operator who does not want to provision a streaming stack, manage a VPS, or answer infrastructure alerts can point merchants to Channelize and let Channelize's engineers handle the operational surface.
What Channelize does that Cartcast will not give you on day one: Channelize's delivery network reflects years of CDN partnership agreements, streaming infrastructure refinement, and the accumulated expertise of a team whose only job is streaming reliability. A new Cartcast operator gets the source code and the streaming stack — not that network provenance, and not a support organisation on call when a merchant's biggest show goes live at midnight.
If the business you want to build is an agency that curates managed live-commerce access for clients — and operational simplicity is more valuable than platform ownership — Channelize is the accurate answer for that scope.
When owning Cartcast is the right answer
The business Cartcast is built for is not Channelize's customer. It is Channelize's competitor.
Channelize charges merchants $97–$497/month for a live-commerce SaaS. You are building a live-commerce SaaS. The owner-level question is not whether Channelize's monthly subscription is a good deal for a merchant — it is who runs the platform that merchant pays.
Commission architecture. Channelize takes no GMV cut from merchants. Cartcast ships with a default schedule — 4% on Starter, 2.5% on Growth, 1.5% on Scale, charged on live and VOD-attributed sales only — and as the operator you can change it freely per plan tier: zero, a flat-subscription model, or any hybrid you set. Channelize made that decision for its business once. Cartcast hands the decision to you.
Repricing exposure. Bambuser repriced its entire tier ladder between its enterprise era and 2026 — from opaque enterprise contracts to a published $0 free tier and a $79/month Essential plan. Channelize will reprice at some point, as every SaaS does. When it does, your merchants' cost structure changes without your input. Owning Cartcast means no vendor reprices your product from underneath you.
Data control. Your merchants' customer records, show analytics, order history, and checkout data live in your own Supabase instance when you run Cartcast. On Channelize, they live in Channelize's infrastructure.
The acquisition axis — two different purchases
Channelize's subscription and Cartcast's one-time purchase are not the same purchase, and putting them on a head-to-head cost axis misrepresents both. The legitimate shared axis is how you acquire the platform capability:
| Path | Upfront | Ongoing | What you own |
|---|---|---|---|
| White-label Bambuser Pro | ~$2,988/yr (bambuser.com/pricing, 2026-08-07) | Per-view meter + annual renewal | White-labeled front end; Bambuser owns the source |
| Subscribe to Channelize | Free trial | $97–$497/mo (pricing.channelize.io/plans, 2026-08-07) | Merchant accounts; Channelize owns the platform |
| Build from scratch | Months of engineering | Internal maintenance | Everything — and every infrastructure decision |
| Buy Cartcast | $249 | VPS + CDN hosting | Source code, commission architecture, merchant data |
Capability comparison
| Cartcast | Channelize.io | |
|---|---|---|
| Embed on merchant's own site | Yes | Yes |
| Live shows + shoppable VOD replays | Yes | Yes |
| In-stream checkout | Yes | Yes |
| No GMV cut to the platform | Yes (operator-configurable rate) | Yes |
| Source code ownership | Yes | No |
| Managed streaming infrastructure | No — operator deploys | Yes |
| Vendor roadmap and support org | No | Yes |
| Published free merchant entry tier | Set by operator | Yes ($0, 4 events/mo) |
| What this competitor has that Cartcast does not | — | CDN network with partnership provenance; established support organisation; managed operational responsibility |
Bambuser: the recognition magnet and the category signal
Bambuser is the name in every category listicle. It describes itself as the world's leading video commerce company — 250+ brands, 240 countries, publicly listed on Nasdaq First North. It is the vendor the market's memory reaches for first when live commerce comes up, and it has been operating this format longer than any other vendor on this page.
Its 2026 pricing (bambuser.com/pricing, as of 2026-08-07): $0 free tier (250 views/month); $79/month Essential ($948/year; 2,000 views/month); $249/month Pro ($2,988/year; adds white labeling, Mobile SDK, SSO); Enterprise at custom pricing. Overage charge: $0.25 per view past the plan allowance. No GMV commission published.
The accurate description of Bambuser's economics is about the cost curve, not the entry price. Entry pricing is accessible — $0 to $79 self-serve. The cost curve is steep at real audience sizes. At a modest show cadence — ten shows a month, 500 viewers per show — you reach 5,000 views against a 2,000-view Essential allowance: 3,000 overage views at $0.25 each is $750 in overage alone, putting the effective monthly cost at approximately $829. At 10,000 views per month, overage alone reaches approximately $2,000 before the plan fee. That arithmetic follows the published rate card; Bambuser's definition of what counts as a "view" is worth reading before treating the figure as final. The claim that survives is not "Bambuser is expensive" — it is that entry pricing is accessible and the cost curve bites at real audience sizes.
Bambuser reported its annual recurring revenue at negative 12% year-over-year at the close of 2025, moved to semi-annual financial reporting in 2026, and sits at a market capitalisation of approximately $14 million (Q4 2025 report, 2026-02-20; market cap from Simply Wall St aggregation). This is not a verdict on Bambuser's product quality. It is the most readable available signal about where brand-owned-site live commerce is heading in the West, while Whatnot doubled its GMV in the same period. The divergence between marketplace growth and brand-site contraction runs through the category's most established vendor.
What Bambuser has that Cartcast does not: Bambuser's 240-country delivery network, Mobile SDK, and eight-plus years of production refinement on live streaming infrastructure represent a scale and maturity a new operator will not match independently on day one. The $249/month Pro tier explicitly includes white labeling, Mobile SDK, and SSO — an operator can resell live-commerce capabilities under their own brand for approximately $2,988 per year without writing code or managing a server. That is a real and documented path, and this page will not pretend otherwise.
Decision guide
If you want managed infrastructure for your merchants — Channelize's team runs the servers, the CDN, and the roadmap, and you curate access — Channelize.io is the right answer. It wins on operational simplicity, vendor support, and the absence of infrastructure decisions. Send merchants there if managed is the business you want to operate.
If you want to white-label live-commerce without owning code — you can accept per-view metering and Bambuser's repricing decisions — Bambuser Pro at approximately $2,988/year (bambuser.com/pricing, 2026-08-07) is a documented path. The rate card is public; the overage arithmetic, not the entry price, determines whether the margin works.
If you want to own the platform — source code, commission schedule you set, merchant data on your infrastructure, no vendor repricing your product mid-year — Cartcast is the purchase. You are building a competitor to the vendors above, not a customer of them.
If what your merchants actually need is discovery — new-to-brand buyers finding them in a shared feed — the right answer is Whatnot or TikTok Shop. Neither Cartcast nor Channelize replaces the discovery function of a marketplace. If the channel argument rests on acquisition rather than owned-audience loyalty, an embed is the wrong format and this page will not argue otherwise.
See the platform running before you decide: https://cartcast.saascode.ai. Own it at https://saascode.ai/products/cartcast.
The honest limits, platform by platform
-
Channelize.io: "What Channelize does that Cartcast will not give you on day one: Channelize's delivery network reflects years of CDN partnership agreements, streaming infrastructure refinement, and the accumulated expertise of a team whose only job is streaming reliability. A new Cartcast operator gets the source code and the streaming stack to deploy — not that network provenance, and not a support organisation on call when a merchant's biggest show goes live at midnight."
-
Bambuser: "What Bambuser has that Cartcast does not: Bambuser's 240-country delivery network, Mobile SDK, and eight-plus years of production refinement on live streaming infrastructure represent a scale and maturity a new operator will not match independently on day one. The $249/month Pro tier explicitly includes white labeling, Mobile SDK, and SSO — an operator can resell live-commerce capabilities under their own brand for approximately $2,988 per year without writing code or managing a server. That is a real and documented path, and this page will not pretend otherwise."
FAQ
What is the difference between Cartcast and Channelize.io?
Channelize.io is a hosted live-commerce SaaS: merchants pay $97–$497/month (pricing.channelize.io/plans, as of 2026-08-07) and Channelize runs the streaming infrastructure. Cartcast is a live-commerce codebase you purchase once and deploy yourself — live shows, in-video checkout, and shoppable replays as an embed on the merchant's own site, on infrastructure you own and operate. Both deliver the same embed shape on the brand's own domain. The difference is who runs the servers, who sets the commission rate, and who owns the merchant data.
Which live shopping platforms take a percentage of GMV?
As of 2026-08-07: CommentSold charges 4–6% of sales (try.commentsold.com/get-started/pricing/); TalkShopLive charges 10.25% plus $0.30 per item sold (talkshop.live/features/pricing). Bambuser, Channelize.io, Firework, Smartzer, and LiveMeUp publish no GMV commission. Cartcast includes a configurable commission system — as the operator deploying Cartcast, you set the rate per plan tier, including zero if you prefer a flat-subscription model.
Does live shopping actually work in the United States?
In the marketplace format, yes and growing fast: Whatnot reported more than $8 billion in GMV in 2025 (roughly double 2024) and TikTok Shop projects approximately $23 billion in US GMV for 2026. In the brand-owned-site format — which is Cartcast's shape — the picture is different. eMarketer measured US livestream e-commerce at $14.64 billion in 2025, approximately 1.2% of US retail e-commerce, forecast to reach 1.9% by 2029 (eMarketer, 2026-01-16). Bambuser, the category's longest-running brand-site vendor, reported ARR down 12% year-over-year at the end of 2025. The format works; the shape that is growing fast is the marketplace, not the brand-site embed.
How much does Bambuser cost in 2026?
As of 2026-08-07 (bambuser.com/pricing): $0 free tier (250 views/month); $79/month Essential ($948/year; 2,000 views/month); $249/month Pro ($2,988/year; adds white labeling, Mobile SDK, and SSO); Enterprise at custom pricing. Overage: $0.25 per view past the plan allowance. At ten shows a month with 500 viewers each, the 3,000 overage views on the Essential plan compute to approximately $750 in overage on top of the $79 plan fee — roughly $829 effective monthly cost, based on the published rate card. Bambuser's own definition of a 'view' is worth reading before treating this as a final number.
Can I white-label a live shopping platform and resell it to merchants?
Yes — two documented paths. Bambuser's Pro plan ($249/month; $2,988/year; bambuser.com/pricing, 2026-08-07) explicitly includes white labeling, Mobile SDK, and SSO: you resell under your own brand with Bambuser's infrastructure and per-view meter behind it. Cartcast is the second path: you purchase the source code once, deploy it on your own servers, and operate it as your branded live-commerce SaaS — with full control over pricing tiers, commission rates, and merchant data. White-labeling Bambuser means Bambuser maintains the code and the roadmap. Owning Cartcast means you do.
Is there an open-source live shopping platform?
No maintained standalone open-source live-commerce platform was found as of 2026-08-07. The WooCommerce live shopping plugin on WordPress.org is published by the Channelize.io team and requires a paid Channelize subscription to function — it is a client for a hosted service, not an independent self-hosted platform. Cartcast is a one-time source-code purchase, not open-source, but the source code is yours after purchase: you deploy it, operate it, and can fork it for a specific vertical.
