The closest codebase to Billora in the self-hosted invoicing space ships under Elastic License 2.0. Section 2.1 of that licence, in Invoice Ninja's own self-hosting terms (v1.0.2, dated 2026-02-01), reads: "You may not provide the software to third parties as a hosted or managed service." The operator who deploys an invoicing platform and charges their own clients to use it is described by that sentence exactly. That is where this comparison starts.
Billora is an invoicing and quoting platform sold once as source code. You deploy it under your own brand and run it as a SaaS for freelancers and small service businesses. Two comparisons follow: Invoice Ninja, whose Elastic License 2.0 prohibits the exact use this buyer intends, and Wave and Zoho Invoice, the free hosted tools that answer a different job.
Billora vs Invoice Ninja (self-hosted)
What each actually is
Invoice Ninja is a source-available invoicing platform maintained by its own company. It is alive and actively developed: v5.11.53, 26,683 commits on the v5 stable branch, self-hosting terms revised this year. It is not open source — it ships under Elastic License 2.0, a source-available licence with specific commercial restrictions. Self-hosting Invoice Ninja costs $0 and includes all Pro and Enterprise features in the codebase. Its hosted tiers run from $14/mo for Ninja Pro to $300/mo at the high end of Enterprise, as of 2026-08-07 (invoiceninja.com/pricing-plans).
Billora is a multi-tenant invoicing SaaS codebase, built on Next.js and Supabase, sold once as source. You deploy it under your own brand, set your own tenant plan pricing, and offer invoicing and quoting to your own client base. Each tenant connects their own Stripe account via Stripe Connect Standard OAuth; the money settles in their balance, and your platform holds and transmits none of it.
The licence
Invoice Ninja's self-hosting terms, version 1.0.2, February 1st, 2026, state the restriction in plain language. You may host Invoice Ninja for your own business's invoicing. You may not offer it to third parties as a service. The Invoice Ninja name and branding may not be removed without purchasing an annual white-label licence, whose price is not disclosed on the pricing page.
Billora ships under a commercial licence that permits the operator activity Invoice Ninja's bars: running a multi-tenant invoicing SaaS for other businesses, branding it as your own product, and keeping your modifications private. These are not the same software in different price brackets. They are products built for different operator permissions.
When Invoice Ninja is the right call
If you want to invoice your own business's clients and have no interest in running a platform for others, Invoice Ninja self-hosted is the stronger economic answer. It costs $0 and includes all Pro and Enterprise features. It has expenses, projects, and time-tracking that Billora v1 does not. It carries years of release history, a large community, multiple payment gateways, and a company dedicated to its maintenance. For the solo operator invoicing their own client list, those things matter more than the licence clause.
If your work requires expenses, project-based billing, or time-tracking, Invoice Ninja is the better-fit codebase for v1, regardless of licence. Billora's scope is the quote-to-invoice-to-payment lifecycle. Expenses and time-tracking are explicitly out of scope, not on the roadmap, not plan-gated — absent.
When Billora is the right call
If your plan is to run an invoicing platform and offer it to freelancers or service businesses as a service — charging monthly, running the infrastructure, controlling the brand — Invoice Ninja's licence closes that path. The ELv2 restriction is not a corner case: offering the software to third parties as a hosted or managed service is exactly what it forbids, and that is the operator transaction.
Billora's architecture is built for that role. Each tenant's payment collections go directly to their own Stripe balance via Connect Standard. Your platform holds no funds and takes no percentage. You are not a money transmitter under that model. Recurring billing and automatic overdue reminders are available on Pro tiers and up — these are plan-gated, not absent, and the operator controls which plan gates them.
Capability comparison
| Invoice Ninja (self-hosted) | Billora | |
|---|---|---|
| Licence: multi-tenant operator hosting | Not permitted (ELv2 §2.1) | Included in purchase |
| Self-hosted cost | $0 — all Pro + Enterprise features | $89 one-time |
| Rebrand / custom domain | Annual white-label licence required (price undisclosed) | Included |
| Expenses and time-tracking | Yes — included in v1 | Not in scope (v1) |
| Projects and project-based billing | Yes — included in v1 | Not in scope (v1) |
| Payment gateways | Multiple (exact count not verified by this page) | Stripe Connect Standard + BYO payment-link paste-through |
| Operator fund custody | Not applicable — single-entity self-host | Zero — tenants settle direct to their Stripe balance |
| Multi-tenant database isolation | Not designed for it | Yes — per-tenant isolation |
| Domestic e-invoicing mandates | Not verified by this page | Not supported (CFDI, NFS-e, KSeF, ZATCA, SDI) |
| Client portal accounts (persistent login) | Available | V2 roadmap — not in v1 |
| PayPal OAuth / regional rails | Available | V2 roadmap — not shipped |
| V1 maturity | Years of releases, active company, large community | v1 |
Billora vs the free hosted tier
What Wave and Zoho Invoice actually are
Wave (waveapps.com) offers a Starter plan at $0. The plan includes unlimited invoices, unlimited estimates, and bookkeeping built in. Wave states no client limit on the Starter plan. Wave monetises through Wave Payments: 2.9% + $0.60 per card transaction, Amex at 3.4% + $0.60, as of 2026-08-07 (waveapps.com/pricing). Wave Payments is how the free invoicing product sustains itself — the invoice is $0 because the payment collection is not. Wave's Pro plan runs $19/mo or $190/yr. Wave is a business that owns its software; it is not sold as an operator licence.
Zoho Invoice (zoho.com/us/invoice) is entirely free: up to 500 invoices per year, 2 users, and 3 projects at $0, with no paid tier for the invoicing product itself, as of 2026-08-07 (zoho.com/us/invoice/pricing). It supports BYO payment accounts through multiple gateways including Stripe, Square, and PayPal with no Zoho platform fee on those transactions. It is also a business that owns its software and does not sell operator licences.
When Wave and Zoho Invoice are the right call — stated clearly
If you want to invoice your own clients and have no interest in running a platform for others, Wave and Zoho Invoice are the correct tools for the job. Wave handles it at $0 with bookkeeping included. Zoho handles 500 invoices per year across multiple gateways with no Zoho cut. There is no version of this page that would recommend Billora to that buyer, and this page won't try.
The specific honest limits of each free tier matter:
Zoho Invoice's ceiling — 500 invoices per year, 2 users, 3 projects — is real. A business invoicing more than 500 times a year or needing a third user will hit it. Wave states no invoice or client ceiling at Starter, but Wave Payments takes its 2.9% + $0.60 per transaction. That fee is Wave's business model; the freelancer's revenue is, fractionally, Wave's revenue too.
The transaction-shape distinction
Wave and Zoho Invoice are built for the freelancer who sends their own invoices. Neither can be white-labelled, rebranded, or operated as your own product for your clients. They are businesses somebody else owns, built for a buyer who rents the tool. The buyer this page is written for wants to own the equivalent of that business — to be the one charging the monthly fee, setting the plan structure, and collecting the margin. That transaction is not available from either vendor.
Wave's free model and Billora's architecture diverge at exactly one point worth naming. Wave collects payment on behalf of your invoicing customers through its own payment infrastructure and takes a percentage. Billora's tenants collect their own payments through their own Stripe accounts and Billora's platform collects nothing. Which architecture belongs in your product depends entirely on which side of the platform you intend to sit on.
Decision guide
If the job is invoicing your own clients and the budget is $0, use Wave or Zoho Invoice. Billora is the wrong purchase for that job, and the correct tools are free and functional.
If you need expenses, projects, or time-tracking alongside invoicing, use Invoice Ninja self-hosted. It costs $0, includes all of those in v1, and carries years of release history. Billora v1 explicitly excludes them.
If you want the most mature self-hosted invoicing codebase — the one with the most gateways, the most releases, an active community, and a company behind it — Invoice Ninja self-hosted. Billora is a v1 product.
If you need domestic e-invoicing mandate compliance in Mexico (CFDI), Brazil (NFS-e), Poland (KSeF), Saudi Arabia (ZATCA), or Italy (SDI), none of the products on this page is certified for that. Get a jurisdiction-specific system.
If you are evaluating a custom build — commissioning a developer to build a multi-tenant invoicing SaaS from scratch — that is a substantial engineering project. A purpose-built codebase trades upfront cost against build-time and build-risk. Generic boilerplates do not include the domain-specific logic: immutable line-item snapshots, sequential invoice numbering with database-level deduplication, tenant-scoped Stripe Connect OAuth, or idempotent recurring generation. Those took real engineering to get right in Billora's codebase, and they are not things a generic Next.js starter brings.
If your plan is to run a white-label invoicing SaaS for freelancers and small service businesses — charging your own tenants, taking no percentage of their collections, owning the codebase — and Invoice Ninja's licence bars that use: Billora.
Try the live demo → · Purchase and download → · $89 one-time.
FAQ
Can I host Invoice Ninja and offer it to my clients as a paid service?
No. Invoice Ninja ships under Elastic License 2.0. Section 2.1 of that licence, as published in Invoice Ninja's self-hosting terms (v1.0.2, dated 2026-02-01), reads: "You may not provide the software to third parties as a hosted or managed service." Offering an invoicing platform to freelancers and small businesses as a service — charging them monthly, running the infrastructure — is the exact use the licence forbids. Invoice Ninja's white-label arrangement exists and is annual, but its price is not disclosed on the pricing page and the commercial terms differ from a perpetual codebase purchase. Billora is sold once with a licence that permits exactly that use.
Is Invoice Ninja open source?
No. Invoice Ninja is source-available under Elastic License 2.0. The source code is public and you can read and modify it, but ELv2 is not an open-source licence by the Open Source Definition. Its restriction 2.1 — which forbids providing the software to third parties as a hosted or managed service — is what makes it source-available rather than open source. For an operator building a hosted invoicing product for other businesses, this is the material difference.
What does Elastic License 2.0 actually restrict?
ELv2 adds two restrictions to what would otherwise be a permissive licence. Restriction 2.1: you may not provide the software to third parties as a hosted or managed service. Restriction 2.2: you may not use the software to circumvent licence key or copy-protection functionality in a separate product. For the invoicing operator use case, restriction 2.1 is the binding one — deploying Invoice Ninja as a multi-tenant SaaS and charging your clients to use it is the restricted act.
What is the best self-hosted invoicing software if I want to invoice my own clients?
Invoice Ninja self-hosted. It costs $0, includes all Pro and Enterprise features including expenses, projects, and time-tracking, and has years of release history backed by an active company and community. Billora is the right answer for a different job: running a multi-tenant invoicing SaaS for other businesses, which ELv2 bars Invoice Ninja from doing. This page recommends Invoice Ninja for the own-clients use case because it is the honest answer.
Is Wave actually free, and how does it make money?
Wave's Starter plan is $0 with unlimited invoices, unlimited estimates, no stated client limit, and bookkeeping built in. Wave makes money through Wave Payments, which charges 2.9% + $0.60 per card transaction and 3.4% + $0.60 for Amex, as of 2026-08-07 (waveapps.com/pricing). The invoicing tool is free; the payment collection is monetised by transaction. Billora's architecture is the inverse for its tenants: they connect their own Stripe accounts, the charges settle in their balance, and the operator's platform takes no percentage.
What invoicing software can I legally rebrand and operate as my own SaaS?
This question narrows the field sharply. Wave, Zoho Invoice, FreshBooks, and QuickBooks are not sold as operator licences — none of them can be white-labelled or offered as your own product. Invoice Ninja's open self-hosted version is barred by ELv2's restriction on offering it as a managed service to third parties. Invoice Ninja's white-label arrangement is annual and at an undisclosed price. Billora is sold once as source code with a commercial licence permitting exactly that: deploy it under your own brand, run it for your own tenant base, charge your own prices, and keep your modifications private.
