Every decision-tracking tool on this list is useful under the right conditions. The condition they do not advertise is the one that actually matters to a buyer running a team: what the tool does when it cannot ground a claim. A confident wrong brief delivered to a Slack channel is worse than no brief at all — it is an action-prompt built on a gap, with a Slack timestamp that will outlast the decision it drove. Every product in this category answers that failure mode differently. None of their pricing pages say how.
Briefcrew is a decision-briefing platform sold once as source code. You purchase it, deploy it to your own infrastructure under your own brand, and run it as a multi-tenant SaaS. On a trigger it gathers context from your organisation's connected sources, synthesizes a cited brief with every claim linked to a real source, delivers it to Slack or email, and writes an immutable decision record — the accountability artifact that tells your team, months later, exactly what evidence a decision rested on. When retrieval is thin, it refuses structurally rather than generating. That refusal architecture, and the gap it addresses, organises this guide.
Briefcrew earns its position against real alternatives — not as the obvious answer for every reader, but as the right one for a specific buyer.
Five criteria before you choose
The first criterion is the one this list is organised by. Grounding behaviour asks what the tool does when it cannot find enough evidence to support an answer: does it cite and rely on the human to spot gaps, does it refuse before generating, or does it assert and leave you to notice? In a category where the output is a brief someone acts on, this variable decides whether a tool is an accountability layer or a liability.
Record durability asks whether a brief leaves a retrievable accountability artifact. Glean's admin audit log defaults to 30-day retention and does not retain the content of the answers an agent produced — Glean's own documentation states this directly. An AI briefing tool that does not write a durable record is a notification system, not a decision-accountability system.
Licence and ownership determines whether you can white-label the tool at commercial scale. The answers are not uniform in this cohort. One of the most popular self-hosted options in the category carries a branding restriction at 50 users that its SPDX identifier does not disclose.
Connector coverage is the gap between what a tool claims and what it ships. A connector on a roadmap is not a connector you can rely on today.
Cost structure is the one the pricing page addresses last. SaaS subscriptions, one-time purchases, and self-hosted open source zero out different cost lines. The line none of them mention — LLM token spend, metered at the model provider, recurring forever — is the one that surprises operators at month three.
Group 1 — Cite and deliver
These tools synthesize from connected sources, cite the sources they used, and deliver the answer. When retrieval is thin, they rely on the human reader to verify the citations and notice the gaps.
Glean
Glean is the category-defining enterprise AI assistant: $150 million Series F at a $7.2 billion valuation, ARR past $300 million in 2026. It ships connected sources, scheduled and event-based triggers, Slack-message delivery, and documented inline citations — and naming it honestly is the first obligation of any guide in this space.
Glean's grounding approach is cite-and-rely: its own documentation states that "citations aren't always returned." The model is called with whatever context retrieval produced; coverage is not architecturally guaranteed. On record durability, Glean's admin audit log tracks administrative and configuration actions, defaults to 30-day retention, and does not retain the content of the answers an agent produced. Asking what Glean told the team about a decision three months ago returns no result — there is no place to look.
Honest limit. Glean ships 85+ agent Actions that mutate external systems: creating Salesforce opportunities, opening Jira tickets, committing to GitHub, drafting and scheduling Google Calendar events. An admin can block these write tools for specific agents, but the capability exists and is the point of the product for many buyers. If your requirement is an AI that acts rather than advises, Glean does that. Briefcrew does not, by architecture.
Price. Glean publishes no price. glean.com/pricing redirects to the Glean homepage; there is no Pricing item in the navigation and no dollar figure anywhere on glean.com. Third-party estimates circulating in 2026 disagree by more than an order of magnitude, and two of the most widely cited sources are direct Glean competitors selling against those numbers. The number is a sales-call answer. Source: glean.com, fetched 2026-08-07. Licence: commercial SaaS, no source code.
Dust
Dust is the closest functional comparison to Briefcrew's briefing loop: connected sources, scheduled Triggers (the vendor's own launch post: "Your agents, working while you sleep"), Slack delivery, and claimed citations on every answer. It publishes its prices, which makes an honest comparison possible.
Dust claims "All answers include citations to sources" — a quality goal rather than an architectural guarantee in the same sense as a structural refusal path. Whether its brief outputs are retained as a durable artifact after delivery could not be verified at primary source.
Honest limit. Dust ships access to 20+ language models with none locked to a higher plan. Its connector and tool ecosystem has been in production for years longer than a v1 build. If model variety or production hardening is the selection criterion, Dust is meaningfully ahead on both.
Price. Free ($0, 500 lifetime credits). Pro: $24 per seat per month on annual billing ($29 monthly). Max: $120 per seat per month annual ($150 monthly). Credits do not roll over; programmatic use is metered at $0.01 per credit on top of the seat fee. Source: dust.tt/home/pricing, fetched 2026-08-07. Licence: commercial SaaS, no source code.
Onyx (formerly Danswer)
Onyx is the most technically credible self-hosted option in the retrieval-assistant cohort. Its MIT-licensed core is genuinely self-hostable and commercially usable without a paid agreement. Version 4.5.2 shipped 2026-08-05 — it is actively maintained with multiple releases per week.
Onyx ships cited answers and follows the same cite-and-deliver grounding model as Glean and Dust. Its Business tier is published at $20 per user per month on annual billing, with 40+ connectors including Slack, Google Drive, Notion, Gmail, Confluence, Jira, SharePoint, Salesforce, and GitHub.
Honest limit. The licence has a carve-out that matters to a reselling buyer. Everything outside the backend/ee/, web/src/app/ee/, and web/src/ee/ directories is MIT. Everything inside is the proprietary Onyx Enterprise License, which forbids copying, distributing, or selling the software without a paid per-seat commercial agreement. OIDC/SAML SSO, on-premise deployments, white-labelling, custom integrations, and data exports all sit inside that directory — the features an enterprise or reselling deployment actually needs. The MIT core out-reaches Briefcrew v1 on connectors by a wide margin. If raw retrieval breadth is the criterion, Onyx wins it.
Price. Business: $20 per user per month (annual), onyx.app/pricing, 2026-08-07. Enterprise: contact sales. MIT core: free to self-host for features outside the ee/ directory. Licence: MIT core (commercially usable) + proprietary Onyx Enterprise License for ee/ features.
Notion AI
Notion is a workspace product, not a briefing platform, but it belongs in this guide because its AI Meeting Notes feature explicitly extracts decisions and since late 2025 links each decision takeaway back to the transcript moment where it occurred.
The grounding approach is after-the-fact extraction: Notion processes one meeting recording, pulls what was concluded, and makes it searchable. The brief arrives from what the meeting said — not from multi-source context gathered before the meeting to support a pending decision. That distinction is the whole story here.
Honest limit. Notion AI does not write cited briefs from connected sources on a trigger. It does not produce immutable decision records. Arriving at a governance-ready decision artifact from Notion requires manual assembly. It is a workspace and meeting-capture tool, and it does both of those jobs well.
Price. Free ($0). Plus: $10 per member per month (annual). Business: $20 per member per month annual. AI is bundled for paid plans; custom agents are metered at $10 per 1,000 Notion credits. Source: notion.com/pricing, fetched 2026-08-07. Licence: commercial SaaS, no source code.
Group 2 — Record what humans write
These tools own the record half of the decision problem. None of them generate briefs. The grounding question is not applicable, in the best possible sense: a human writes the decision in, so the record is perfectly grounded by construction. The tradeoff is that a human is the generator.
Decision Log (decisionlog.ai)
Decision Log ships immutability, supersession, actor identity, and provenance in language almost identical to Briefcrew's positioning: "A system of record, not another place to talk" and "Once recorded, a Decision keeps its meaning." As of 2026-08-07 its page shows no pricing, no connector integrations, no AI synthesis, no triggered generation, and no customer logos. A human writes the decision in.
Honest limit. It is the filing cabinet, not the thing that fills it. No synthesis, no connectors, no trigger, no citations from external sources. Treat as early-stage: no founding date, funding, or customer references are visible on its public page.
Price. Not published as of 2026-08-07. Source: decisionlog.ai, fetched 2026-08-07. Licence: not disclosed.
Cloverpop
Cloverpop markets a Decision Bank — described by the vendor as "the first system of record for business decisions" — with decision playbooks, flows, approvals, and documented rationale including data sources and outcomes. It is an enterprise product with governance process depth.
Honest limit. Cloverpop is a decision-process platform: it structures how an organisation makes decisions, not how it gathers evidence for them. No cited briefs from connected sources, no triggered runs, no Slack or Notion integration. Its own pricing page publishes no figures; CTAs are "Request a demo" and "See the platform." Source: cloverpop.com/pricing, fetched 2026-08-07.
incident.io
incident.io ships immutable event timelines for incidents — an automatically recorded, append-only sequence of actor, action, metadata, and timestamp. Its own words: "Event records that cannot be edited or deleted after creation, providing tamper-proof audit evidence." It holds SOC 2 Type II covering that audit trail.
Honest limit. It is incident-scoped and event-shaped. The record is a timestamped sequence of what happened during a response, not a synthesized, source-cited brief assembled before a decision. It does not connect to Slack or Notion to gather context, does not generate narrative briefings, and does not publish pricing. It solves the incident-response accountability problem, not the pre-decision knowledge-assembly problem.
Group 3 — Refuse before generating
One product in this guide builds its grounding behaviour into the architecture at the level the buyer can audit.
Briefcrew
Briefcrew is a decision-briefing platform sold once as source code. You purchase it, deploy it to your own infrastructure as a multi-tenant SaaS under your own brand — your pricing, your tenants, your decision records. On a trigger, it gathers context across your organisation's connected sources, synthesizes a cited brief, delivers it to Slack or email, and writes an immutable decision record. Slack and Notion ship in v1; Google Drive and Gmail are roadmap, not shipped in the current version.
The grounding guarantee is architectural: when retrieval returns insufficient context, the system returns a structured refusal — INSUFFICIENT_CONTEXT, SOURCE_UNAVAILABLE, or UNABLE_TO_VERIFY — and does not call the language model at all. A server-side scan then drops any claim in the generated output that lacks an inline citation marker before delivery. A brief only exists if the evidence to back it exists. A buyer who purchases the source code can verify this guarantee themselves — no model prompt to trust, no vendor claim to take on faith.
The decision record is INSERT-only after creation. There is no UPDATE route and no DELETE route; a BEFORE-UPDATE trigger raises an exception for any attempt to modify the original record. Status changes and annotations write to a separate append-only events table. The record your tenants produce today is retrievable, searchable, and exportable twelve months from now, under whatever retention policy you choose to set, on infrastructure you control.
Honest limit. Briefcrew ships two connectors in v1: Slack and Notion. Onyx's MIT core ships more than 40. Dust ships more model variety. Glean ships execution capability Briefcrew does not have and is designed not to have. There is no production history you can verify against your own requirements — this is a v1.0 build. Buyers who need enterprise connector breadth, agent execution, or a track record in production are looking at the wrong product.
Price. $99 — one purchase. Try it at https://briefcrew.saascode.ai or purchase at https://saascode.ai/products/briefcrew. Licence: source code, purchased once, yours to deploy and white-label.
Group 4 — You configure the floor
Self-hosted open-source retrieval and chat pipelines. Grounding behaviour in each is determined by your configuration — prompt engineering, retrieval parameters, and the models you connect. None ship a decision-record schema, a triggered-brief pipeline, or a brief-delivery layer out of the box.
RAGFlow
Apache-2.0 licensed, commercially usable including white-label deployments. A retrieval pipeline you assemble and configure; grounding behaviour is entirely your responsibility to set.
Honest limit. RAGFlow is a retrieval framework, not a decision-record system. No triggered-brief layer, no immutable record store, no Slack delivery is included. You build those on top.
AnythingLLM
MIT licensed, commercially usable and white-label-able without restriction. A chat interface for documents and connected sources — a straightforward starting point for a chat-over-your-docs product. Ships no triggered runs, no immutable record, no brief delivery.
Honest limit. It is a chat interface. Grounding behaviour is prompt-dependent. Building the decision-record and delivery layers is the operator's work.
Open WebUI
The most-starred product in the self-hosted AI cohort — 148,000 GitHub stars — presents as BSD-3-Clause but carries a material modification. Clause 4 of the actual LICENSE prohibits altering, removing, or replacing "Open WebUI" branding in any deployment unless end users number 50 or fewer in any rolling 30-day period, or written permission is granted, or a paid enterprise licence is in place. GitHub's own SPDX detector returns NOASSERTION on the licence identifier.
Honest limit. The most popular self-hosted AI option in this cohort cannot legally be white-labelled at commercial scale without a paid licence or written permission. This is not a critique of Open WebUI — it is the most important fact about it for a reselling buyer, and no other listicle in this category carries a licence column that surfaces it.
Dead entries — found in 2026 listicles, no longer available
Three products still appear in 2026 decision-tracking comparison articles. A buyer who found any of them elsewhere deserves their current status:
Loqbooq — a decision-log SaaS — was discontinued in September 2024. Its own pricing page reads: "Loqbooq was discontinued in September 2024." The project's own research file listed it as a live competitor; that error is not carried forward here. Source: loqbooq.app/pricing, fetched 2026-08-07.
Verba (Weaviate's RAG demo) — archived 2026-06-08 by its owner. Vendor notice: "no longer in active development… will not receive further updates, bug fixes, security patches, or new features." It was self-described as a community-driven demo, never a production product. Source: github.com/weaviate/Verba, 2026-06-08.
Khoj Cloud — sunset 2026-04-15. The khoj.dev/pricing page returns 404; the app banner reads "Has Been Sunset." The open-source Khoj repository survives (36,000 GitHub stars, AGPL-3.0 licensed — the copyleft provisions apply if you expose it as a network service) but its last tagged release carries a beta label. The cloud product is gone; self-hosting is possible for operators who accept the licence terms.
How to choose
| If your situation is… | The right call |
|---|---|
| You need an agent that acts — creates tickets, updates records, drafts calendar events | Glean |
| You need the widest retrieval connector coverage, self-hosted, commercially usable | Onyx MIT core (read the ee/ carve-out before committing to SSO or white-label) |
| You need a published price, a Slack-delivery briefing loop, and SaaS convenience | Dust |
| You need structured decision records a human fills — no generation required | Decision Log (decisionlog.ai) or Cloverpop |
| You need immutable, automatic incident timelines with SOC 2 audit coverage | incident.io |
| You are deploying a briefing platform as a business, need to own the accountability artifact, and can start with Slack and Notion connectors | Briefcrew |
| You are building a retrieval or chat product on a permissive open licence | AnythingLLM (MIT) or RAGFlow (Apache-2.0) |
| You want to deploy a white-label AI chat at commercial scale using Open WebUI | Read the licence before you build |
Honest verdict
This category has a clean, verifiable gap: the tools that synthesize and cite are all SaaS subscriptions that retain their outputs on the vendor's infrastructure under the vendor's retention policy. The tools that keep durable, immutable decision records are all human-filled — a person writes the decision in. The one product that spans both — automatic synthesis from connected sources, structural refusal when evidence is thin, and an immutable record of what it gathered — is a v1.0 build with two connectors, no production history, and no enterprise track record to evaluate.
Briefcrew earns its position on this list for the buyer who is deploying a decision-briefing platform as a business, needs to own the accountability artifact, and can operate within a connector set that currently reaches Slack and Notion. For every other buyer — the one who needs the 40+ connector reach that Onyx's MIT core ships, the one who needs agents that act at Glean's execution depth, the one whose primary requirement is a published SaaS price and a larger model menu — the honest verdict routes away from Briefcrew, and this guide has said so in each section.
The one criterion no product in this category has answered on its pricing page is the one this list is organised by. That silence is not an accident. Grounding behaviour is what a buyer discovers after the first brief goes wrong — and by then the decision has already been made.
FAQ
What is the difference between a decision log and meeting notes?
Meeting notes capture what was said in a single meeting after it happened. A decision log records what decision was made, what evidence supported it, and who was accountable. The meaningful difference is timing and source: meeting notes extract from one transcript after the fact; a useful decision log ideally captures what the team knew before the decision was made and from which sources. Notion AI Meeting Notes, Fellow, and Granola extract decisions from transcripts they process after the meeting closes. Briefcrew does the inverse: it assembles multi-source evidence before or around the decision point, on a trigger, and writes the record of that evidence alongside the decision itself.
Can a decision log fill itself in, or does someone have to write it?
Almost every decision-record tool shipping today requires a human to write the decision in — including decisionlog.ai, Cloverpop, and the governance-platform cohort. The record is durable; a human is the generator. Briefcrew is the exception in this guide: on a trigger it gathers context from connected sources, synthesizes a cited brief, and writes the decision record automatically from what it gathered. A human reads the brief and makes the call; the record of what evidence the decision rested on writes itself without requiring anyone to type it.
What should an AI briefing tool do when it does not have enough context to answer?
The safe answer is to refuse clearly, rather than synthesize with partial evidence. Most briefing tools in this category call the language model with whatever context retrieval produced and rely on the human to evaluate the citations. Briefcrew takes a different architectural path: when retrieval is insufficient, it returns a structured refusal — INSUFFICIENT_CONTEXT, SOURCE_UNAVAILABLE, or UNABLE_TO_VERIFY — and does not call the model at all. A server-side scan then drops any claim in the generated output that lacks an inline citation before delivery. This means a brief only exists if the evidence exists to support it. A buyer who owns the source code can verify this guarantee directly in the codebase.
Is Onyx free for commercial use?
Onyx's MIT-licensed core is free to use commercially without restriction. But its enterprise directory — containing OIDC/SAML SSO, on-premise deployments, white-labelling, custom integrations, and data exports — is governed by the proprietary Onyx Enterprise License, which requires a paid per-seat commercial agreement for production use of those features. Onyx's Business tier is published at $20 per user per month on annual billing (onyx.app/pricing, 2026-08-07). If the features you need sit in the MIT-licensed portion of the codebase, it is genuinely free. If they are in the ee/ directory, they are not.
Why do so many decision-tracking vendors not publish their prices?
Glean, Guru, Cloverpop, and Decision Log all publish zero dollar amounts. Glean's pricing page redirects to the Glean homepage with no Pricing item in the navigation. Guru's pricing page states it removed per-seat pricing because it considers itself a platform solution rather than a per-seat tool. The pattern is common when pricing is negotiated against deal size, configuration, and the sales team's read of the buyer. Dust and Onyx are the exceptions: both publish their prices. Briefcrew has one price — $99 — because it is a one-time purchase with no seat count to negotiate.
What does the EU AI Act require organisations to log, and does it apply to business decision records?
The EU AI Act's Article 12 record-keeping obligations for high-risk AI systems came into effect on 2 August 2026. They apply to AI systems listed in Annex III — automated credit scoring, recruitment screening, biometric identification, and similar categories. They do not apply to an organisation's own human business decisions or to tools that help document them. Briefcrew records human decisions; it is not a high-risk AI system and it is not an Article 12 conformity tool. For organisations building AI governance documentation for their own AI models, the relevant tools are Credo AI, Holistic AI, and IBM watsonx.governance — a different category with a different scope.
